Brant Fell

Brant Fell looking South. I blipped the view looking north about a month ago. It's  the peak with the best views  of Windermere in both directions, I'm surprised Wainwright did not climb it but its probably too low for him. At 192m its lower that the smallest Wainwright peak - Castle Crag at 290m.
Anyway this shot shows all that remains of  the Victorian viewing station described in Thomas West's  1778 A Guide to the Lakes .  Read about it here.  It qualifies I think for Wide Angle Wednesday - Historical. Thanks Steveng for hosting

I was on a mission to retrieve an abandoned geocache with the aim of reinstating it. I found the broken and very waterlogged box. I also found 6 discarded drinks cans and took those home for recycling

PS., As Knottman2 pointed out, Wainwright did climb this fell. He described it in his last book on the Outlying Fells which I have a copy of.  He states that there used to be a summer house on the top but it burned down.  
PPS. Could not believe how busy it was given that we are supposed to social distancing. However not so busy we could not maintain 2m+ distance. Just busier than last time I was here.
 Day 3- Boris shuts schools

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.