earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Superrationality

I took my first trip to Tesco to stock up on vital supplies, having run everything down before we went away last week. I once wrote about superrationality, which applies very pertinently to the way we should behave right now. We're required not just to behave rationally, but beyond that to superrationally. This means that rather than buy more than usual to stock up on stuff we need, we should actually buy less than usual to ensure there is enough for everyone.

The supermarkets are saying that there is no current issue with their supply chains, so the panic buying of certain items seems quite extraordinary. There was not a potato to be found, nor any pasta. Flour was sold out too. Not a huge problem. At a time like this, it's hardly a big deal to be going short on a few things. 

I met a few people I'd not seen in ages and there is a sense of a true wartime spirit of community developing. From what I've witnessed so far, the crisis is bringing out the best in most people. Long may that continue. It's going to be a long haul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.