Transitoire

By Transitoire

Joyeux Anniversaire

So as normal, my early start with the quatrième INTER went very well...they are just such an enthusiastic class it is hard not to like them! The task I gave them to do was to give a synopsis of a particular character in the film, describe them and tell me what they did, and also whether they liked them or not. The film we are watching is 'Up', and my favourite answer was definitely for Russell (the little boy), which went something along the lines of "Well I like him, but I couldn't bear to have him near me". Nothing like a bit of blunt honesty to brighten up the day!

After a chance meeting with Thibaud, I headed off to the MGEN office with a degree of trepidation. This was mainly due to the fact that the last time I had been, the secretaries decided to have a little chat about the fact they didn't think I could speak French...in front of me. Soon put them straight, but still...it's never fun when it happens. So surprisingly, and this could be famous last words...but everything seemed to work. The only thing missing was my RIB (relevé d'identité bancaire), so tomorrow I have to find a scanner and then email it to the woman who dealt with my application. As soon as that happens it will hopefully get the ball rolling, and I can then crack on with my remboursements médicaux and CAF application.

So today is my Mum's birthday...so Happy Birthday Mum, I will still say you're quarante-deux in all my speaking tests (the number just rolls off the tongue, I don't know why!).
I always feel bad for Mum on her birthday, because I'm never able to be there...with it being slap bang in the middle of January. The fact that the majority of the family's birthdays being in September (including mine!) means that there is usually some sort of shindig...whereas poor Mum has to go with just after Christmas! Anyways, decided the only thing I really wanted to do in the late afternoon/early evening was be on Skype with her, so even though I wasn't there it felt like I was at least a part of it. God knows how long we talked for, or what about, but I know I enjoyed it! I really am so close to Mum, I guess it's only child syndrome and all that jazz...but she's one of the only people I know who always has my back no matter what. I mean, if I do something stupid she will tell me, and if I'm in the wrong...well, she'll definitely tell me then! But I know it's a cliché and all, but she is probably one of the people I rely on most. So, Happy Birthday Mum...hopefully next year I can actually be there.

My evening was spent at another birthday party, yes, someone else has the same birthday...so Happy Birthday Claire too! I would have taken a photograph of Claire, but she had managed to position herself so the lens on my camera would not have fitted her in! So instead you have Laura, Kendra and Pawel...a German, an American and a Polish man (a Pole?) in an English themed restaurant, for an English girl's birthday, in France, with other English, French and an Indian. You can't say we're not multicultural! Anyway, the food at Dolly's was as awesome as ever...I just can't resist their Fish and Chips, a little taste of England I guess. And of course I had to try their crumbles of the day...who could resist the rather bizarre concoction of apples, pineapple, bananas, pear and chocolate?! Lovely lovely evening...I'm so lucky to have this lot as my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.