Day 2

Went out at 3 pm to buy milk and fruit. Walked.

Streets deserted. Theatre, coffee shops, bars and restaurants closed. Barber closed. Only the grocery store was open, and they had this lovely sign just inside the door. I saw perhaps four people in the store. The shelves had some food on them, not as much as usual, but they weren't bare. There was plenty of milk, a few bananas and some blueberries.

My FaceTime class with Bella this morning was poetry. We read two books together and watched a video of Francisco Alarcón teaching third-graders about poetry. Tomorrow she'll read me her new poems in either Spanish or English, whichever she prefers. 

With Evan I did colors. I asked him to name something yellow, and he said, "Submarine." I broke into the Beatles' song: "We all live in a yellow submarine, and our friends are all aboard.... And we live a life of ease, every one of us has all we need..." I hid my tears by laughing, and his homework is to learn the song and sing it with me tomorrow. 

I gathered up all my chapters for the story of my life in Southern Africa. I have 55 pages (double spaced, 12-point type), about 14,000 words. I plan to read it through it tonight and see if I can pick it up again.

Extra is a view through spring blossoms of the building where I live and the window from which I have made my series tagged #kendall_view.

TED Talk by Alanna Shaikh explains with authority and remarkable brevity where we are, the link between climate change and virus proliferation, and the way of the future as she sees it. Stunning clarity. Mic drop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.