Day 1

It's easier for introverts. 

I gave a lesson on volcanoes via FaceTime with Bella. 
Had a phone conversation with Margie (no more Mondays with Margie in person for the foreseeable future). 
A phone conversation with the daughter in Houston, out of work now and afraid she won't have enough to pay her rent. 
Texting with the daughter in Johannesburg, where Covid-19 is raging out of control. She says she is really frightened.
A marvelous lengthy and philosophical texting with the son in Beaverton who writes, "It's changing the world. Whether it ends up being for better or worse in the long term, it's changing our civilization."
A few hours on Facebook and a few hours catching up with some Blip journals. 
I didn't feel even a hint of isolation, and I never left the apartment. 
Read a really helpful article posted by WalkingMarj. 
Time flew. 

A good twenty minutes on the stationary bicycle. I didn't get around to reading, archiving photos on external drive, or any of the other projects I have in mind. (I might eventually even return to writing the story of the years in southern Africa.) It's easy for me. I worry for others.

Last night around midnight a houseless man on the sidewalk below my building moaned repeatedly, "I'm scared. I don't want to die out here!" Over and over. I thought how many of us lying in our beds were listening to him, fearing with him, wishing we could help him, not knowing how.

The Governor announced all schools will be closed till the end of April. Many restaurants have closed. A number of people I know have lost their jobs, and others are fearful they will lose them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.