Peanut & Chip

Peanut and Chip are really cute fluffy white Silkie chickens and these are the first of their eggs. (maybe the 5th or 6th) freshly laid this morning.

The chicks belong to my son and they wander free range, they're great little foragers and come running when you whistle for them. I'm very excited to crack these open and expect to see some deep yellow yolks, I think I'll poach them with a slice of toast.

My son has wanted chicks since he was a very small boy, I'd find eggs that he'd taken from the fridge in the toe of his socks pushed underneath his pillow as he tried his best to hatch his own baby chick from them. Finally, he has his 'chicks' which he used to pronounce with a gorgeous lisp all those years ago. It's a happy egg day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.