Cancer Treatment Full Stop

It's official. After several cancellations this week my Oncologist from Freeman Cancer Care Unit rang me at home this morning and has stopped the rest of my Cancer treatment with immediate effect. Their resources are being stretched to the limit with the current Corona Virus so the decision has been made. I was supposed to still have treatment until the end of May, so I hope it's enough. I think it is because my body is groaning with side effects, maybe it's the right time to stop.

It's been a long haul and I haven't quite made it to the finish line, but I did my best and now that's it for me! (other than Oral medication for 10 years)

The changing faces of cancer collage, Im happy to say that the latest picture is the middle one, Im sprouting curly dark hair and despite many challenges, mostly I manage to smile.

I consider myself fortunate that the Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy is behind me and my heart goes out to those who are being put on hold in that situation, Im feeling grateful for small mercies. 
Thank you to everyone that has supported me this far, stay safe and take care of each other. Flashcube xx

In other news my old Dad had a fall in the kitchen last night, so all the virus rules were broken as I went with my brother to his assistance with the first response paramedics. It was going to be over 2 hours before an ambulance would be available. Luckily, very very luckily, he did not break anything and with the help of a blow up air bed/chair type amazing contraption we got him up and onto his feet. He tore a toe nail off and will have a bit of bruising today but otherwise is fully intact and okay. I got home at 10.35pm last night feeling a bit done in. 

I washed all surfaces, wheelchairs, walker frames, door handles with dettol. Now where's my new Chanel No 5 bath oil that was sent as a belated birthday gift yesterday?  I think I need a bit of pampering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.