Can't go there anymore

Yesterday evening I received a phonecall from my colleague Richard that his son had all the symptoms of the virus. They even had doctors in white protective suits and masks over in their home to examine the poor boy.

Although he wasn't tested, he is now in quarantine for the next 2 weeks. Richard and I  agreed that we shouldn't be working together anymore for the next few weeks. Because Richard hasn't a quiet working place at his home as I do, I offered him that I will work from home so he can still use the office.
I wonder if it helps though, because we've been together a lot for the past few weeks.

On todays photo is my office (the red-orange-yellow building) getting smaller in the distance..... 


This morning I immediately asked how he and his son and rest of the family were doing and all are okay after a relative quiet night. He is of course still very ill.

I didn't work at all today.
First thing I did was getting the groceries for my in laws. We've advised them to stay inside and not go to the supermarket by themselves. After some persuation they agreed. So I ended up in the JUMBO at 8 am and delivered their stuff at their doorstep at 8.50

When I came home I found out all the laptops were taken by the boys and Annemarie, all busy with online teaching (Annemarie) and online schoolclasses (Bas and Daan) Even my macBook was taken. Maybe I also haven't that quiet working place at home??
I jumped on my bike and went for a ride outside. I wasn't far away when Joke, my sister, texted me to arrange the groceries for our parents.

Before I knew it I was back in the supermarket, Albert Heijn this time, to get the things for them. At 13.00 we left for Stadskanaal and delivered everything at their doorstep. Very strange, we kept a safe distance and didn't go in.
After a short while we left again and went back to Delfzijl.
I took the chromebook of my dad with me (which he hasn't used for over a year, still brand new) so Daan now has his own laptop.
Problem solved, I have my MacBook and office space back for my own use now.

I also took a huge bag filled with 16 files of clients whose taxform I now can fill in from home. I picked it up at The Hypotheker in Stadskanaal, where I normally work a few days a week in this month.
I know what I will be doing tomorrow morning.

Once home I couldn't concentrate anymore on my work, so I cleaned another part of my garden just like I have done the past 3 days.
Daan came to help me. Thanks Daan!

Dinner and watching more disturbing news on TV is my current status.
I think I will go in early tonight and NOT watch any talkshow about the virus. I did yesterday and it kept me awake for a long time. I don't want that to be repeated.

Hang in there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.