Demolition continued.

Took a few photos on my walk of the demolition continuing on John's house. It saddens me to see his home coming down, but it really has been an eyesore for quite a long time, even while he was still able to live there. We often wondered how he managed to live there for as long as he did. A couple of extras as well. I'm sure it will be completely demolished tomorrow.
I went down to our little local grocery shop for a newspaper and talked to our neighbour who works there - maintaining social distancing of course.  She said that the shop is hoping to stay open as long as possible for people who don't want to go to town. Groceries are still being delivered for them to sell. She's not sure how long she'll continue working because she and her children are asthmatic and she doesn't want to take the risk. We'll see what develops. 
The mailman was at the mailboxes beside the huge stump that I blipped a few days ago. I chatted with him for a few minutes and asked if he thought mail delivery would stop. He doesn't think so because it's considered an essential service. He said that he's delivering food and toilet paper that people are ordering online - I had no idea that food could be delivered by mail from Amazon and Walmart!  He also said that he had talked to the crew who had cut down that huge tree. One of them told him that he thought it had been struck by lightning years ago. Interesting possibility. 
Strange to be very conscious of social distancing when talking to people. These were the only two people I talked with today, didn't see anyone else on my walk other than a couple of guys working on the demolition. Oh, but I have nattered to G, of course.  :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.