Blossom thief

Another grey and dreary day, though at least it didn't rain consistently. I popped out into the garden to check the temperature, and the first thing I saw was a female blackcap on one of the feeders ( see extra). We've had a male blackcap visiting all winter, but it's good to see that a potential partner's turned up for him. I really must do my first breeding bird transect at Thorpe Wood in the next few days - always a joy and there are very rarely any other people in the wood so early in the morning!

As I wandered round the garden I spotted a blue tit in our cherry tree, which is pretty much in full bloom, a full fortnight earlier than normal. I thought it was probably foraging for insects, but as I watched, it carefully snipped off a bud with its beak - you can see just see it holding the flower bud in it's left foot. Now I know why we find so many blossoms scattered on the lawn even when there's been no wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.