Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

House sparrow #35

An early start for me as I braved Sainsbury’s in town to do my parents’ weekly shop. I was pleasantly surprised that there were only two items that I wanted that were out of stock - small Hovis(which they may well have stopped making at the moment) and paracetamol which is understandable. Two further stops in the Sainsbury’s local and Asda on the way to their house sorted that out and mum was over the moon. Granted, they don’t need toilet rolls, pasta, meat or any tinned food as they mainly eat fresh foods, but I was impressed. And it wasn’t too busy either so I was home before 9am. 

Hubby and I went to Pickering’s Pasture and managed an impressive total of 30 bird species today. It was a very cold wind on the banks of the River Mersey but a lot more sheltered at the screen, where we sat for over an hour watching the little birds on the feeders and over the marsh. On the way back to the car we spotted a small flock of house sparrows. We rarely get these in our garden, even if they are one of our most common species in the UK. 

I read today that the National Trust are closing all of their houses, shops and cafes but opening their car parks free of charge for everybody (even non-members) to enjoy as many of their gardens and parks as possible. How very generous - I am sure we will take advantage at some stage soon which will probably encourage us to join in the future. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.