Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Great Crested Grebe #36

After spending most of the morning cleaning my ovens, I decided that I deserved an afternoon walk, so we went to Carr Mill Dam near St Helens. 
I don’t think we’ve been for a couple of years - not sure why - but it was a nice little walk. It’s only a couple of miles around the dam but we took nearly two hours as I kept stopping to watch the grebes. Apparently it is a nationally important site for great crested grebes and I’m not surprised as there were at least 8-10 pairs on the dam. Unfortunately most of them were a long way out on the edge of the camera limit and the light wasn’t that good either, so I’m a bit disappointed with the shots I came away with. Oh well, I can always go back another day :)
Along with the grebes there were lots of fishermen doing their thing, but we never saw anyone catch anything. I guess there must be fish in there as you need a permit to fish from the local angling society. 
Again lots of people out getting some fresh air - and it was certainly fresh today - too fresh at times! 

Back home and deciding what to do this evening. We might even get a board game out. After all, we have over 600 to choose from :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.