Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Doocot

Not quite sure where this morning went, but I drove over to Cumbernauld in the afternoon hoping (but not expecting) that the wee Fruit and Veg shop in the Town Centre would be open. I'm doing OK for most of my food needs, but running a bit short on fresh fruit and vegetables. Not only was it open, it was also well-stocked. Result!

Took advantage also of being in Cumbernauld to drive down into the Village and go for a walk through Cumbernauld Glen. To say it was like Sauchiehall Street on a busy day would be a slight over-statement, but there were certainly enough people out walking, enjoying the sunshine, while keeping a safe distance from one another. If it wasn't so serious, it would be comical.

The 'outward' part of my walk took me past the 12th (or maybe 13th) century motte of Cumbernauld Castle (see extra) while the 'return' part brought me past the 16th century doocot (dovecote for those not from these parts). Walked up round behind the doocot to see if I could find any daffodils to act as a foreground for my photo. They were a bit thin on the ground and facing the 'wrong' way, but I had my Blip for the day.

Hire car goes back tomorrow, so it will be local walks for a while. Assuming I am still able, and permitted, to leave the house of course!

Take care out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.