Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Cowden

Drove my hire car back to the depot this morning. I was then faced with a (minor) dilemma - wait 20 minutes for the bus to take me into Falkirk and then catch another bus home or just start walking and see how far I get? With all the warnings about using public transport unnecessarily it wasn't much of a choice.

Walked up to the Helix Park and joined the Forth and Clyde Canal there. An hour's walking and I had reached Camelon, another 30 minutes or so and I was passing the Falkirk Wheel. Lots of people out walking, lots of people on bikes, some doing the 'social distancing' thing better than others.

Well, I had got this far, so I just kept going. Took today's Blip of Cowden Hill as I reached Bonnybridge. Also took a little diversion here to pop into the Co-op, and then rejoined the Canal after a wander through Bonnyfield nature reserve. Got home about three hours after I started. I had covered about 8.5 miles according to the app on my phone. My longest walk since we stopped meeting as a Ramblers group and likely to be my longest for a while.

Take care out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.