pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Write on

There is a line in 2015 sci-fi drama where Matt Damon’s character; Mark Watney, is stranded on Mars and deciding that the way to survive is to “science the shit” out of his extreme isolation predicament.

I think it’s a great line, I really like the sentiment and in a sense I think I’ve co-opted it for my own purposes.

No, I’m not growing potatoes from my own faeces…

In my bid to work through some personal stuff and calm my beleaguered mind I was already working towards “writing the shit” out of my own tight spot. I’ll leave those that read my blips to draw their own conclusions as to whether that phrase can be adopted in the literal sense…

A few months on and with the coronavirus in full swing and a full lockdown seeming inevitable, writing, has once more proven to be my salvation from myself. Whether it’s on here, writing proposals for work, exchanging insults with valued colleagues or swapping texts with friends and family it keeps me going and keeps my mind whirring in a good way.

Goodness knows that I’m going to need to call on it over the coming weeks and months, so apologies in advance to all for what follows from here!

Please, stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.