pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Mushroom

One year ago today, having just watched and paraphrased The Martian, I confidently declared that I would “write the shit” out of what was to follow.

Reading that post back to myself, I’ve found nothing in there that wasn’t true and I’m particularly pleased with my line about writing being “my salvation from myself”. Please don’t misunderstand me, I’m not saying for a moment that every blip, poem, blank verse, lyrics I write is brilliantly written manna from heaven – far from it. 

What I am saying is that the simple act of writing has enable me to achieve more of an equilibrium between the competing irrational and rational factions in my brain. Having also become a Hamilton devotee, I also need to move from the co-opted The Martin phrasing and adopt Hamilton’s “I’ll write my way out” maxim instead. It’s better, less sweary and forms part of a kick-ass song.

The fact that my public offloading and rebalancing seems to have been enjoyed by and has resonated with a few of you, is a rather marvellous added bonus, which has helped me to realise that I am not in fact losing my mind and that most of us are just bumping along trying to find our way through this adventure that is life.

I think this is only the second time that I’ve done a full year of blipping and to be honest, I wouldn’t be without it now. Blipping has become such an integral part of daily life to the point that the children see me taking a photo and ask: is that your blip for the day, Dad?!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, to anyone that has ever either read, liked, favourited, commented or shared any of my posts: THANK YOU it is very much appreciated and particularly over the course of the last year, has kept me going. 

The weather was beautiful today, so whilst The Eldest slumbered, the wee ones and I packed a snack and took a walk around the farm trail at Sizergh Barn. There’s been a lot of tree felling going on, which has meant a load of branches available for building a den, so we stopped there a while to play and eat our snacks. Perched on a log, I looked down and saw this mini eco system flourishing in a wood pile.

It was such a nice day that we moved on further up the road and returned to Levens Hall Deer Park, where we spotted said deer and were able to walk around in shirt sleeves for a little while.

A kickabout followed in the afternoon with a chippy tea and some giggles in front of Ant & Dec to round out a really rather lovely day.

Thanks again for reading and stay healthy.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.