pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Cider with Rosie

Angie sent me a photo of a play programme she’d found at The Old Court Theatre, home of Chelmsford Theatre Workshop (CTW).

I’m terrible with dates (in every sense), but I’m estimating the picture of the young me shown above is about 24 years old and yet I can remember how the play “Cider with Rosie” made me feel, like it was yesterday. Like most things, I’m not great with the specifics, but I remember a lot of light, laughter and warmth from this one and it just being a nice play to do.

I have only one regret in my life, which is that I didn’t go to university. However, just now as I type that and think about it, I need to stop regretting it, because in place of university I nervously ended up at CTW for a rehearsal for an epic production of Nicholas Nickleby. 

I was offered a couple of spear-carrying parts for the play, but not feeling ready to go on stage at that point, I joined the crew instead, blinked and then around 8 years of my life promptly vanished in a slew of parties, productions (acting/stage managing/assistant directing/directing/newsletter editor), friendship, laughter, love and just so much bloody fun.

Today it all felt a long way from the day to day realities currently being faced by the grown-up version of D (see extra of me hiding from the world), but if I’m being honest – and despite how things may appear – inside, I’m still that same nervous, awkward kid waiting for the right moment to step into the spotlight.  

CTW is still there now, although clearly dark due to Covid, and continues to belt out a number of productions per season. If you’re ever down that way, I highly recommend checking them out! 

Thank you, Angie for prompting so many brilliant memories!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.