pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Lousey

It’s been a testy ol’ weekend.

I’ve not been on my best game and with the children being back at school for their first full week, I don’t think that they were at their best either. However, we muddled through as ever and when I look back on it, I realise we had a couple of lovely walks and we enjoyed a couple of kickabouts in the sunshine on both days.

M’boy and I even got to watch a football match together as Chelsea (his team) progressed to the semi-finals of the FA Cup.

I’ve also come to peace with the fact that I am now a father to my first teenager and will only see her when she needs feeding, money or money for food. To my regret, we have gone backwards with our crash course in dishwasher loading and I know now that when I dared to suggest that having brought the dishes to the worktop directly above said dishwasher, it might be good to open the door to crockery Narnia and pop the dishes inside, that this was entirely unreasonable and downright offensive to oppressed trainee teenage dishwasher loaders the world over.

I clearly pushed too far too soon and she simply wasn’t ready for it yet. We’ll revisit the programme when she’s twenty.

By way of balance, here’s The Youngest making friends with a woodlouse whilst “helping” me tidy the flower bed at the front of the house. 

She has also disappointed me by refusing to wear the heavy hat I bought her and continuing to grow up. On the plus side, she’s already nailed ignoring parental guidance, so maybe she’s getting the teen stuff out of the way in advance?

Seriously, just let me have this one, OK?

Stay healthy.

And sane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.