Day 1

Arrived about 5am Friday morning, and very easily got my visa. I was a bit worried having come from Kw8. I I’d have to complete a form declaring where I’d been. My immediate manager suggested I buy duty free alcohol because it’s 40% cheaper. I did. Nice to live in a country where I can buy it. I was dropped off at the hotel, dreading the noise level as it overlooked a busy road. The first quiet room they sent me to, had someone in it.. my room had a mouldy bathroom ceiling and a slightly wonky balcony door allowing in more traffic noise.. it was ok clean but disappointing.. I lay on my bed for a while, snoozing a little.. got up for an average breakfast.. the CEO messaged to check I was ok. I was told the people are good.

Showered and went out to a local beach for a walk. Fresh air. I noticed it when I got out of the airport. Different from Kuwait, refreshingly so. I had lunch - cheese and honey fattayer (think open flaky pastry pie) and coffee. Much needed. The staff at the cafe organised a taxi for me using the app I need to get and I went to Al Mouj (pictured) an upscale residential development on the coast with cafes, near the Kempinski. A quiet, peaceful, pretty area to wander around. I discovered a supermarket, complete with a small, expat food room.. you guessed it.. pork products. I bought a tiny bit of ham.. I took the taxi back to my hotel and rested. And slept. Very tired and overwhelmed but in a nice city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.