Nature Mark Making

A graphic image of lines and triangular shapes formed by decaying reeds reflected on a white lake surface. It reminds me of a Cy Twombly painting, such as Tiznit, although I doubt he based his ideas in nature.

I am always amazed that many people dismiss art such as his because it doesn't represent anything recognizable. However, the issue with an image that represents something, is that once it can be named or labelled, it becomes uninteresting; problem solved - move on.

Interesting art, on the other hand, invites you to explore, keeps you engaged, encourages you to return. It raises questions and allows you to consider not just the artwork, but the artist, yourself and your reaction.

I know a few examples of photographs that reach such lofty ambitions, such as those by David Ward, Valda Bailey and Doug Chinnery, but I'm not so well versed in photographers.

I keep striving to improve, searching for ideas, meaning and interpretation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.