Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Eurasian Collared Dove in motion

No time for photography today. But I couldn't resist making a quick birdphoto again. I've made some more earlier this week.

This dove is a regular guest in my garden. About two years ago she lost her partner to a sparrowhawk. I saw it happen. For about 1 or 2 seconds there was a lot of noice and even more feathers flying around and then both the sparrowhawk and the male dove vanished, leaving her and me behind in total shock.

Since then I look after her a bit. She's still alone. I don't know if doves look for a second partner in life, but I think she should. She's a nice girl....
Lately I've seen her a lot with another couple doves who seem to have accepted her company.

As for the picture. It isn't sharp. I usually take sharp pictures, but I liked the motion in the wings. I turned it to black and white because she's a bit of a sad bird after all.

Enjoy the upcoming weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.