Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Feast Or Famine

I went to Sainsbury’s this morning to pick up a click and collect order that I’d booked about 10 days ago. My second one. This one didn’t go as smoothly because I added a number of items before the deadline, including some for a neighbour, but the order didn’t update. I’m not sure if it was user error or a website error! So although I am somewhat avoiding shops, I went inside and bought just a few extra things.

Scenes like these - top left and bottom right - are all too familiar as we are seeing them on the news so frequently. But there were PLENTY of flowers all ready for Mother’s Day this weekend (in the UK) and also plenty of chocolates! I bought some daffodils, some for me and some to give away, but I resisted the call of the Lindor balls! I also noted that there was plenty of ice cream - I may end up treating myself to some next trip! It goes to show, though, that these items are not seen as ‘essentials’ for buyers! Even with Easter coming up soon.

Just before I left I saw a pallet of cleaning products being put out, as well as a pallet of tissues and paper towels. The shelf stackers were inundated with shoppers. Everyone was being very polite so I hope that is typical. These people are working so hard and not really able to practice social distancing. It must be awful to be ‘pounced on’ when trying to put items on the shelves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.