snailspace

By snailspace

Getting one's ducks in a row

Generally my feelings on housework are much in accordance with those of Quentin Crisp: "“There is no need to do any housework at all. After the first four years the dirt doesn't get any worse.”"


Okay, I am not quite that bad but really, I see no need to do more than to apply the 80/20 rule. Housework seems so pointless. No sooner is it done than one has to turn around and start it all over again. like painting the Forth Bridge. I find the whole process soul destroying and it has genuinely been known to make me weep.


However.... Lockdown.


Cleaning seems as good a way as any to keep fit and find something to do and thus it is that we find yours truly delving into corners rarely seen hitherto.


Today I washed my ducks.


Tomorrow, I plan to wash curtains. In the meantime, I may need a lie down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.