Strange Sunday

Sunday 22nd March 2020


It's Mothering Sunday but not as we know it. Social distancing through COVID19 means families everywhere are unable to visit and be together. 

I listened to the Archbishop's national broadcast service this morning, then went down to church and celebrated the Eucharist behind locked doors on behalf of the community. I then opened the church for private prayer. Our organist came down to play and it was lovely to sit for 45mins and just listen. A few people came in for their own time. 

I did some more admin in the office and then had my first funeral visit since the restrictions came in to place, that was hard!

I took some time for myself mid afternoon and followed my mother's example by re potting all my indoor plants. They were in need of attention. I used all the compost I had. 

At 7pm I lit a candle and joined in the Candle of Hope prayer led by Churches Together. 

More announcements from the government tonight. So much has changed in all our lives over the last week. Wonder what we'll be facing this time next week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.