witchpics

By witchcreations

Social distancing part 1

The world has become a strange place, almost overnight... 
Covid19 is making people change behaviour, re-evaluate what they find important and urgent, and to work as a team whilst remaining isolated. 

I live out of town, work from home and mainly interact online, I spend lots of time with my little un and almost never go out or leave the village, I am the 'league of gentlemen'.. I live a local life for 'local people'... I thought I'd be OK with this... but schools are now shut, relationships are restricted and whilst I can control my own emotions, I can't alter the behaviours of others... I can't change the panic buying...  I know everyone evaluates risk in different ways,  but I'm resentful of townsfolk intruding upon rural space...  I'm missing hanging out with mum and  I'm finding it hard to convince my daughter that her friendships will return and that the world isn't ending just because her favourite places are out of bounds...  but I'm also curious to see how the world will alter and how  new experiences and new habits will shape the future. 

It is a strange time full of both sadness and great possibility, so I'm going to try to start posting pictures again... 

We had a family holiday planned, a trip abroad all booked and ready to go, an adventure in the waiting,  we had saved up and plotted and planned,  I even bought a new camera!  but the trip is on hold, the costs refunded, and yet the camera is still waiting for an adventure... 

So whilst I'm trying out home education, and whilst the business world has slowed,  I'm going to get to know my new camera and take some time to record this moment in time... I'll try to post a picture a day, (no matter how dull) but I've always made a conscious decision not to publicly share pictures of my daughter... she can build her own identity whenever she's ready, but I'm not going to make that choice for her... so we'll see what I can find to photograph... as an underwhelming starting point, here's Dave, dashing through the willow... 

Our first day after the school closures, trying to figure out where we can go, to relax, to play, to take some time out, whilst still remaining separate from others, I don't have the answers yet, but I think we'll be running away from people for some considerable time... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.