Squares - The Beta Band

I had a longer day than I'd planned today. I was meant to be finishing at twelve but ended up having to cover an evening class. If I'd gone home I'd have ended up spending close to three hours waiting on busses and travelling to get an hour at home. That being the case I decided to stay in town in the break.

I nipped into the middle of towna dn it was tshirt weather. I grabbed a bite of lunch then wandered down to the National Gallery as I was keen to see the 25 years of photography exhibition. It covers an awful lot more than 25 years but is commomorating 25 years of the national archive. My only gripe is that I'd have liked to see more photos. It's well worth a look if you're passing.

While I was there I thought I should have another look at the Titians that have been in the news recently. While I'm glad they are now owned by the nation, well one of them anyway, I still think the blackmail surrounding them was outrageous. If I'm honest I still far prefer Poussin's Sacrements to the two big Titians. In fact I prefer the smaller Titian to the larger ones. His work just doesn't seem to scale as well as someone like Caravaggio.

Anyway, today's tune is by a band that should have achieved so much more than they did before they split up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.