Beewriter

By Beewriter

Bee - ware the Dark Lady

I went to the Lowry for the book awards this morning. It was our entrance exam at school today so the student who was giving her speech and her friend were the only two who were going. Two members of staff and two students make for a most enjoyable trip.

On arrival we had bacon barms and a cuppa. We were in the Compass Room at the top of the Lowry, it was a lovely room with a view across the Quays. There were seven books shortlisted and four authors were present. The emcee was Alan Gibbons so I suppose I should say there were five authors.

We found out yesterday that Frank Cottrell Boyce wouldn't be able to make it, I was gutted. Mind you, Alan Gibbons was brilliant and very entertaining. I bought his book, Scared to Death, and had it signed, of course. Jamie Thomson, author of Dark Lord: The Teenage Years, was also great to talk to. He fancies himself as a Dark Lord and asked if I would like to be one of his minions when he takes over the Supremacy of the World...I told him I will never be a minion for anyone and that I would be a Dark Lady and usurp him.

The winner of the award was Gill Lewis for Sky Hawk. I took a photo of her as she signed my book. It was a lovely way to spend the morning and it has inspired me to get on with my book which has been languishing on my desk.

The day was made even better when we arrived back at school and were told we could all go home at half past two....fabulous. I'm off out for a meal at Leo's in Monton later to celebrate Sian's birthday. As I couldn't get a signed copy of Frank Cottrell Boyce's book for her I bought Run Rabbit Run by Barbara Mitchelhill. Barbara wrote a little birthday message for her when she signed it and Sian was delighted when I gave it to her.

A great day to finish the week off....and to top it all, it is snowing! I hope it lasts so that I can get some snowy photos over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.