Ullswater

I’m really noticing how much we filter our perspective on the world we see at the moment. This morning I spilt some orange juice and was astonished at where it splattered and managed to reach across the kitchen. I thought of distancing and how far cough droplets can reach. I looked at the lambs and thought how differently I would have viewed them this time last year. I looked across at the hills and knew how much emptier they would be and realised that I usually see them with some sense of people up there walking. It reminded me of foot and mouth.

After cleaning the kitchen and doing some gardening I went for a cycle down to the lake - first cycle of the year, nearly finished me off. Things have fallen silent; the roads (relatively) and the car parks (closed off now - a much clearer message), no visitors or walkers. The workers are still working on the bridge (I wonder how long for) but other than that I only saw one other cyclist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.