Changing Times

Took an early Sunday evening stroll through the (deserted) village at 530pm. Headache didn’t clear until 330pm and I wanted to avoid people so figured when the sun starts to go down and it’s chilly was a good option.

I counted six historic building plaques and photographed each one. This was the most interesting. It reads:

CHANGING TIMES
In 1851 there were over 50 traders in Charing including: 1 glover, 3 blacksmiths, 1 glazier, 3 innkeepers, 2 bakers, 2 drapers, 2 shoemakers, 2 chandlers, 1 tailor, 2 thatchers, 2 saddlers, 1 stationer, 1 limeburner, 1 ropemakers, 3 butchers, 1 tea dealer, 2 carpenters, 1 greengrocer, 1 clock and watchmaker.

Today the local businesses include: 2 general stores, 1 tea room, 1 micro brewery, 1 boutique shop, 1 post office, 2 butchers, 1 barbers, 1 estate agents and possibly a few others. I wonder how many will still exist in a few months from now.

It was so strange walking through the deserted streets, passing 2 dog walkers and 3 other solo walkers (all on the opposite side of the road). All but one waved or smiled hello. The air was crisp and I was glad of my woolly hat.

I stood at the war memorial for a few moments and thought about how my grandparents’ generation and great grandparents could teach us a thing or two about losing civil liberties. I wish my great grandad Charlie was around to give me his advice. He was a farmer and said it like it was. He also taught me how to say the alphabet backwards. A useful skill I believe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.