The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Soaring

Just another day in Paradise.

Each winter the HITS competitive circuit comes to town (Horses in the Sun) giving owners and riders from more northern climes the chance to work their horses and stay sharp by competing with each other and with local riders. I was talking with a man from Wisconsin (think very cold) whose wife would be competing later that morning, chatting about everything that went into participating in the circuit each winter. This is definitely not a poor man's sport. I certainly have no interest (or the disposable income) to take up it up, but I do enjoy going to the competition center and watching the practice rounds. I get caught up in watching the partnership of horse and rider; the camaraderie of the owners, riders, and grooms; and the smells. I'm an old farm boy, I do enjoy the smells.

All in all, a very good morning.

....and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.