Day 1 of Lockdown

First Day of lockdown and it’s a very isolating reality. Unless you live with someone, there is no communication other than at the end of a phone and certainly no coffee shops to linger in watching the world go by.
I managed to go out for an hour’s walk around more or less deserted streets earlier in the morning and a quick visit to the local Sainsbury’s so now I can only look forward to skipping on the patio. I do have a hearty vegetable stew cooking in my slow cooker. Perhaps I’ll feel like opening a bottle of Prosecco that’s lingered in the fridge since November and then later I could marry it with some of my Mother’s Day Gin to add some excitement to my evening.

By and large people are respecting the lockdown - there are no groups of youths playing football in the park although the builders in Quartermile obviously consider their jobs to be in the essential category. I don’t suppose it has occurred to them to think of the precious hospital bed they would occupy should they have an accident.

At the moment as I write this I have been hanging on the phone to RBS for 45 minutes while the same Musak is played on an endless loop and some faceless woman thanks me every minute for waiting and telling me someone will be with me shortly. I don’t know what time scale she’s operating under. I was hoping my Silver account holiday insurance would repay a non refundable deposit on a night’s stay in an Orkney hotel. I’m pretty sure it will be instantly dismissed because it is what is says on the tin, but it’s always worth a try and now I’ve waited this long I can’t hang up now.

My blip is a photo account of my morning inside and out in the big world beyond the patio

After 1hour 10 mins I gave in and hung up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.