pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Focus

The strangeness ante continues to be upped with the dawn of each new day and today has been something of a roller coaster.

Following the PM’s sort-of-lockdown announcement last night, I was anticipating a deluge of calls and enquiries from clients looking to claim and whilst there have been a few, there’s been nothing like the volume I was anticipating – maybe that particular can has been solidly booted down the road? 

The day started brilliantly with my children having a lovely game of shops and me being charged an extortionate amount for their wares, which I seem to remember having bought already at a much fairer price….anyway, with a heavy heart I took my children back to their mum’s and had a nice cup of tea and a chat. I wasn’t set to see them until the middle of next week, but they’ll be back with me this weekend for more fun and games!

Back home and to the erstwhile office, a phone call from a customer who is effectively going to be put out of business due to a Third Party suffering a catastrophic failure of common sense - there seems to be a lot of that going around. The customer shouted, cried, apologised and thanked me for listening and trying to help. In truth, I completely understood her reaction and had our roles been reversed, I would have done the same with a lot more creative swearing.

Photos and messages from friends and family show some them making the very best of the situation forced upon them (without endangering others) and I can’t help but feel that is the absolute best course of action.

How many times have you wanted the world to stop, just for the shortest time so you could catch your breath and refocus? Where we find ourselves now, we have that opportunity to reframe our own narrative and truly focus on that which is most important to us.

We need to embrace it, especially at a time when we can’t embrace each other. 

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.