wrperry

By wrperry

The Great Outdoors

A friend who lives in the Virginia suburbs of DC has been walking with her dog in the Alexandria parks.  She came upon an eagle nest and immediately sent me the directions.  It was so liberating to get in my car, drive to the location and find the trailhead.  Or was it?  I didn't have to hike in very far, and the trail was wide, but every time I encountered a person I cringed.  I didn't pass more than 20 individuals, including two photographers, but I was uneasy.  When I walk in my neighborhood the roads are wide and I know I'm not coming close to anyone.  But was I foolish to be on the trail when it wasn't an essential activity?  Or is it perfectly safe as long as we're outside and more than six feet apart?  Is the great outdoors still great?  
Anyway, I did find the eagle nest, and got some shots of Papa sitting in a neighboring tree.  At least I didn't increase my anxiety level for nothing :)  It might be a while before I go back there again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.