Not in Portugal

Today we should have been flying to mainland Portugal, a country we've never visited before, but naturally it hasn't happened. We did hear this week from the travel agent that we will get most of the cost refunded, though, so that is something.

The cockerel in my blip came from the Portuguese island of Madeira some years ago. Apparently he is a symbol of protection and safety, which seems appropriate during the Covid-19 pandemic. So he is my offering, alongside these garden forget-me-nots, for Tiny Tuesday. (Thanks to Jensphotos for hosting the challenge.)

Thank you for all your kind sympathy and advice after my worst ever sleepless night, after three weeks of nights nearly as bad. Last night was better with two short sleeps adding up to over six hours, with a break of about an hour and a half of reading in between. It'll come right eventually, and as we went for a lovely long walk today (and didn't meet another soul), in glorious warm sunshine, under a blue sky, I'm hoping I'll be physically tireder and more ready for sleep.

Saw two butterflies (silhoutted against the sky, but I think they were red admirals), several bees and a seven-spot ladybird. Could hear skylarks warbling high above, so altogether it felt really springlike, and uplifting.

Off to bed now, feeling optimistic that I shall sleep tonight. Goodnight, blipmates - will catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.