Rodents rule

By squirk

Blossom

The sun shone strong today and I enjoyed my lunch sitting in the garden looking for things to blip. I looked up and snapped the plum blossom. Earlier in the day, I snapped a squirrel eating nuts in the pot the fox was sitting in yesterday. I really won't bother planting anything in that pot.

I've spent most of the day on video chat
- breakfast call with Fred
- post-breakfast call with Mum after she'd tried out the Joe Wicks fitness routine (I might give it a go tomorrow)
- tea break posse call with my desk buddies scattered all round London and beyond, some of whom are dealing with working at home with their kids for the first time. I noticed during the call that the goldfinches were taking beakfuls of Juno's fur that I'd pegged up on the plum tree after a groom. My work colleagues thought the birds mad for lining their nests with predator fur!
- a lunchtime call with Fred who envied my sunshine
- a call with my managers and designer, during which Juno dealt with a bluebottle causing a lot of crashing sounds from the windowsill
- a three-hour call with a friend putting the world to rights as well as the book we're working on. Her sister is a respiratory care physio who's been drafted into nursing in the wards. She and her sister live with their elderly father so there's a lot of worry in that household in particular over the virus. I have all my paws crossed for them – so difficult.

I was a little alarmed to receive a text message from the government. I did go out down the road to see if the re-fill shop was open but it wasn't. The seven people I saw were excellent at physical distancing – one chap coming towards me stepped into the road so we weren't sharing the pavement. There are next to no cars on the roads – in normal times, stepping on to the road would not be wise!

A big bonus of the day: a large bar of chocolate was found in one of my tote bags! I'd completely forgotten that Fred had gifted it to me before he left for Inverness. I'd just run out of chocolate, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.