Stereo Microphone

I'm using my sound recorder to give remote judging of a digital photographic competition.  The club have sent me the images to judge (in the correct order) and I am recording my critique which I would normally have given face to face in their meeting room.  As an experiment, I am also recording a video simultaneously, using Zoom software, so that my commentary is synchronised with the image being shown on screen - that should make it easier for the club to show.

This recorder records stereo sound using two condenser microphones arranged at right angles to each other.  It is described as an X/Y microphone.  I'm not sure how it differs from a traditional Blumlein pair, although I know the latter uses bi-directional microphones, but these are unidirectional.  Maybe a blipper out there has greater knowledge than me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.