Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise at Chillington

I wasn't expecting a sunrise this morning. As I got into the car at 7:20 am I got the impression of dark forbidding clouds overhead. As I drive to work my route is predominantly west so I was somewhat surprised to see a slit of lighter colour in the wing mirror as I sped down the M54. By the time I was driving into the village where my offices are located, I knew the weather gods were going to be kind.

So where to go?

I headed towards the Chillington Estate trying to make sure I chose a location where the rising sun would be visible. In the end I came up to the end of the avenue with a view of the hall. The drama, however, was pointing down the road away from the hall.

This is a 3 shot HDR with a 2 stop separation between frames. Processing in Photomatix Pro. The processing is a little strong for my normal liking, but then again it was a dramatic scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.