Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Silver birch in ice

It had been the intention to try and get up into the Peaks but the local road reports confirmed the foolishness of this plan even in a 4x4. So instead it was the normal routine; supermarket, then visit to Mum's. Rather than snow we had freezing rain overnight, leaving the roads like skating rinks by morning. I was positively bricking it as "white van man" tailgated me all of the way along the A34 to the local supermarket.

I did stop off on the A5 and walked (I mean slipped) down an old road, now gated off by the Highways Department. I disturbed a group of red deer grazing just by the main road, unfortunately I wasn't quick enough and I have a positive aversion to photos of deer's bums!

The land around here is very waterlogged. I liked the way the posts stuck up out of the water adjacent to these silver birch and a slight mist had risen over the pasture behind.

The shot is a combination of two layers. One has been blurred to soften the background. I then used a layer mask to reveal the sharper form of the trees and posts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.