Scribbler

By scribbler

Full of flowers, empty of people!

SHOPPING IN TIME OF CORONAVIRUS

Out, out, damned virus.
Stay far from my iris,
my mouth, my nose,
my hands, my clothes.

With much resistance
I keep my distance.
I'm glum, alone,
and jailed at home.

A shopping excursion's
a great diversion.
But aisles are bare,
few shoppers there.

The aisles are deserted. 
Our eyes are averted.
We rush to pass.
How long will this last?

I'll visit, then,
the florist's den.
The sight is sweet.
My trip's complete.

------------------------------
It has been more than a month since my last post! How did this happen? One day at a time. I have pictures, but never got past checking up on a few of my Blip besties and tossing a bone of encouragement to the newcomers and sending red balloons. 

One of the things I've done lately was to write a four-page poem called "Corona" that ends with this prayer, a prayer for all of us throughout the whole wide earth.

O God, relent, I do implore.
May paradise return!
Forgive and love us evermore
and in your graciousness restore
our fragile island home.

Stay well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.