Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Anyone for a Honeycomb?

I spent the day in the garden doing those jobs you should do but the "old life" (i.e. without Covid-19) seems to get in the way.

Starting by cutting the lawn (or should I say moss!), I then moved onto the shubbery taking over the bottom of the garden and encroaching on my fruiting cherry tree.  Last year the cherries rotted on the branch, which apparently down to lack of air getting to the tree crown. So this year the saws and secateurs have come out.  I've got most of it out, but have now filled up all my garden bins :-(  I might have another go later in the week.

While clearing up I found this dead twig with a what looks like honeycomb on it.  Checking my books, it is actually a form of bracket fungus, and commonly found in England on dead twigs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.