Long sticks are the latest in nest decor

Lockdown day 2.
I went for a walk around the village for my official exercise. There were a number of my neighbours out doing the same thing so I had a few conversations at a safe distance.

While I was at the castle a police car drove around the car park, I assume that they were looking to break up groups of people. It's unusual to see the  police out and about due to the cuts to the service. 

There are doves at the castle and this one was trying to get a very long stick into the chosen nest site - a small space above the door of the gatehouse. I have a series of photos of the dove trying all possible angles before it finally went in. She then sat on her one stick - trying it for comfort and size perhaps!  It's lucky that the castle door is rarely closed as it doesn't lead to the interior of the building.

I've been gardening all afternoon and making the most of the beautiful sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.