a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Drone Fly

Isolation Wednesday ;-D    Drone Fly


I spent some time in the garden today, hoping to spot something interesting and photogenic.  Sadly this was the best that I managed.  You see these hovering everywhere at the moment.  They look a bit like honeybees (they are roughly the same size), but they are really drone flies.

At 15C it was warm enough to set the lap top up outside and work from the garden table.  I'm busy writing file notes, rather than the farewell speech that I won't be giving at the retirement party that isn't happening next week ... on the other hand, if there was no Coronavirus I would be in the office rather than sitting in the garden, so its not all doom and gloom :-)

I started off by mowing the lawn in the back garden and had just completed it when the main drive belt broke.  The front lawn will have to wait until I've been able to repair the mower.  Obviously it is not going to be possible to get the guys that normally service the mower to do this given the lockdown status of the UK.  I'm going to have to order the part(s) and sort this out myself.  I need to disassemble the thing first, to check that its just the drive belt and ensure that there is not some underlying issue that also needs repairing/replacing.  Fortunately, I don't think that there will be any tools required that I don't already have in the garage, fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.