TMac

By TMac

Leisure

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.
No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.
No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.
No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.
No time to turn at Beauty's glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.
No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.
A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

~WH Davies ~


I was late out for my designated walk today.
There were more people out than I usually see, so I diverted to a field that has an artificial pond due to the early Spring rains.

My eyes were drawn to Shelducks fighting and being their usual boisterous selves. 
There were lots of swans in the mix.
I ventured along the field edges and lost myself watching the amorous antics of the Shelducks and pondering the ability of huge swans to take off from the ground.
I smiled as I listened to the whoop whoop whoop of their huge wings in the air.

I realised that the upside of the current situation is that there is nothing much else to do in our days. 
I went to the butcher and the fruit/veg shop for supplies for ourselves and neighbours. We now have a street group chat which has been invaluable.

 We have sent our staff home whilst we try to make sense of the Government's supposed "aid". 
Hubby goes into work with one RVN and they triage. 
I keep abreast of the latest developments, issue statements and tomorrow will be taking telephone/video consultations. 

But, today, I took the time to stand and stare.
Watching birds has always been a soothing balm for me.
Today, I let it do its work...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.