shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Rab

A day early I know, but it was a quick blip on the way through town before heading to Motherwell for the GLO Mini Bible School, which was excellent. Another late night, hence another back blip.

There are two reasons to post this, the first is of course that tomorrow is the 25th of January, the anniversary of the birth of Robert Burns, Scotland's most famous poet, and the time to celebrate Burns Night by quoting poetry, pronouncing toasts and eating haggis, neeps and tatties. Not that I really will be, but hey, that's because I need a very early night after a manic week. The second is that this shows not just Rabbie, but also Walter Scott - call it two for one literary greats! But they aren't going anywhere, which makes me very happy. There had been an idea to move the statues from George Square and make it a very different public space, but there has been such an outcry, that that won't be happening, but they will be removing the grotty red tarmac on George Square, for which I thank the council for this unusually sensible use of my council tax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.