Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Freedom and Whisky Gang Thegither

As today was a celebration of Scotland's national baird, Robert Burns, I cooked the traditional Haggis, neeps and tatties with a beautiful whisky sauce. To go with this wonderful dish I opened a bottle of Aberfeldy my daughter Amy had given to me as a Christmas present. What a fabulous combination.

Burns wrote "Freedom and whisky gang thegither " having discovered the "national" drink at the age of 22 in Irvine, where he was apprenticed in the trade of flax dressing.  His passion was fellowship, usually in the company and stimulation of tavern friends.  He carried pen and paper everywhere, and undoubtedly scribbled many poems with his tavern friends and a dram at the side.  About this he wrote thus:

Oh whisky! soul o' plays and pranks!
Accept a bardie's gratefu' thanks!
When wanting thee, what tuneless cranks
      Are my poor verses!
Thou comes - they rattle in their ranks,
      At ither's arses!

Fortune!  if thou but gie me still
Hale breeks, a scone, an' whisky gill,
An' rowth o' rhyme to rave at will,
      Tak a' the rest,
An' deal't about as thy blind skill
      Directs thee best.

I hope you all have a wonderful day. Slang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.