Caritas (Charity)

This morning I was invited to attend a meeting in connection with the former Old West Kirk in Greenock, which the Greenock and Paisley Presbytery of the Church of Scotland have now decided is surplus to requirements.

As I mentioned in my previous Blip in September, I cannot understand the decision to close such an important historical Church, which contains a unique collection of Pre-Raphaelite stained glass windows. This church cannot be allowed to disappear, as it would be a tragic loss, not only to this community but to the heritage of Scotland as a whole.

A committee/working party has now been setup to determine the future of the Old West Kirk buildings and site. After my visit during Doors Open in September I was asked to attend an informal meeting to give them the benefit of my expertise and see if I could help in any way. The group have got a lot of decisions to make, but I hope my support has given them the confidence to move forward with their campaign and save this historical building and its priceless collection.

As part of the Mackintosh Society's AGM weekend in June I have arranged for a special visit to the Old West Kirk.

This is "Caritas" (Charity) which was designed by Sir Edward Burne-Jones in 1864. Caritas is the Latin term for charity (virtue), one of the three theological virtues. I have also included a link to the watercolour by Sir Edward Burne-Jones (1833-1898) which is in the collection of Andrew Lloyd-Webber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.