Photomuncher's Spot

By photomuncher

Suddenly, my allotment ...

is full of colour and teeming with life.

:-)  :-)

I even have frogspawn in my pond.  Two types perhaps?  How is that possible?  Is that possible?  The first (above) have a larger round nucleus and are surrounded by fat circular balls of material that make up a single round glob of spawn.  The second (Extra 1) are in a thin sheet of spawn with tiny cylinders in suspension.  Two types of frog?  Or something entirely different?  Unfertilised spawn? Any insights will be very welcome.

This is the third year I have had the pond and the first time spawn has just appeared naturally.  Hence my excitement:  I'm going to be a grandad!  The pond is many hundreds of metres from any other water source, so I am very pleased and a little surprised at the new arrivals.

Sorry I didn't tidy up the primroses in the other extras before the photographs: tidying up is not really my thing: just ask Jacqui. :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.