stujphoto

By stujphoto

Corvid

I did warn you earlier in the week that you might be seeing a lot more of garden birds and as we have had a second day of grey drizzly weather this becomes the obvious choice as I can photograph the garden birds from the comfort of our living room because the bird feeder is in plain view. I don't think I have blipped a corvid previously mainly because I have a penchant for the more brightly coloured birds. This one was walking around underneath the bird feeder hoovering up thew bird seed that the small birds above were dropping. I am in two or possibly three minds about the identification of the bird. It could be a  juvenile rook as there is certainly a rookery in the large trees at the back of our property but there is no sign of the greyish/white skin around the bill base. it could also be a carrion crow but I think from its overall size it is more likely to be a raven. I am hoping that one of you  birding slippers can put me right on the identification. For the time being I will have to stick with a 'corvid"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.