I know that some of you are sheltering in apartments  without much access to gardens, so I offer yet another view of our hill garden since that is my view, and I consider myself very lucky to have it. We have gone from an early spring to a late winter, with frost this morning and hailstorms several of the last few days, so the garden is a bit confused, but there is always something to look at out there....

I got a text yesterday from Kathy saying, among other things, that her daughter and her husband are sheltering in place in Santiago, Chile. I am continually struck by the realization that we are not only not alone, but that people in every corner of the globe are struggling, coping, and doing the same things we are to keep ourselves sane and fit. Everything about this experience is counterintuitive, but perhaps that is why this thought gives me great comfort. We're all in this together....

The US has now surpassed China and Italy in number of cases. California probably has as many cases as New York though the numbers are underreported because we don’t have enough test kits. The next two weeks will tell whether the shelter in place orders will have had a positive effect. 

If anyone is still unclear on the concept of why such extraordinarily drastic measures are necessary, Here is a Q&A between NBA megastar Steph Curry and Dr Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases at the National Institutes of Health. Dr Fauci has become the face of the fight against coronavirus because of his impeccable credentials and his ability to get along with Trump.  Point out where Trump is making things up as he goes along without getting fired....It's an unlikely combination, but by far the best interview I've seen.

Steph Curry used to live upstairs from friends of ours in Oakland during his very early days in the NBA . Curry is not only an incredibly good basketball player, he is smart, cute and articulate. He’s also friendly and has a lovely family. 

 Living in an irrational time with a rational, logical engineer is not easy. John and I have had to reach many compromises on what constitutes essential. So far he has found ways to have ‘no touch’ deliveries of wire for his latest building project and birdseed. Both projects close to his heart, I know, but ‘essential’?

I participated in my regular Friday morning Pilates class via Zoom this morning. I must say, the view out the window of our office/craft room/Pilates studio is a lot more pleasant than the view of a parking lot from the studio, and coffee is but a few steps down the hall afterward. It was a great workout but I’d still rather be with the people….

We’re attending a virtual cocktail party this evening via Zoom, but we’ll be drinking our own real wine….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.