Ramshackle

I finished painting the small wall today and it looks so much better. It’s taken all week, just doing a bit each day but it makes outside look cleaner and much neater.

MrH told me there was a more urgent job to do and asked me to look at the windows on the porch. The porch is a real mess which is somehow still standing! It’s like a ‘lean-to’ construction from the 1950s/60s and I’m not sure it’s actually still physically attached to the house anymore. I’m hoping it will get rebuilt and slightly extended, in the not too distant future, so that there will be a decent kitchen table to sit at.

The rot in these window sills is pretty awful (this is the worst one by far) and I can’t afford for the glass to fall out right now as I’m not sure that I could get anyone to provide me with replacement windows. I wire brushed what was left of the sills after this shot was taken and then applied what I can only describe as a very potent chemical which is specifically for rotten wood. I’ll see what the situation is tomorrow and hopefully something is salvageable. I did feel like I was applying clear nail varnish to a Cadbury’s flake at one point as everything was so crumbly . . .


Lovely sunshine today but it felt a bit cooler

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.